Druk Executives


Thimphu is the capital of Bhutan and it is the centre of government. The broad Thimphu valley represents mostly the urban way of life. Just like any other place in Bhutan, this valley is clothed with beautiful trees from valleys to the hill tops and with beautiful buildings built and maintained with the traditional Bhutanese architecture. The name ‘Thimphu’ originates from a sinking stone in front of Dechenphu monastery, which ‘Thim’ means to sink and ‘phu’ means to fly in local language. Oral history says that the stone is placed on top of a subdued ogress to prevent her from flying away.



Paro valley, the only airport town in Bhutan and that has a thriving Bhutanese culture, beautiful scenery and wide spread of terraced paddy field. This beautiful terraced valley is home to many of Bhutan’s oldest temples and monasteries. The National Museum (ancient watchtower) is based on top of hill in the valley and home to the most sacred and famous monastery – The Tiger’s Nest locally known as Taktshang Monastery.



The valleys of Punakha and Wangdue are warmer compared to Thimphu. There is also more paddy field in these two valleys compared to Thimphu valley. These two valleys are about half an hour drive from each other. River rafting is most suitable and carried out in this region. Punakha is the winter residence for the central monk body and it was once the capital of Bhutan until 1955.


Wangdue Phodrang

The valley covers a large area, from the northern snow capped mountains to the cold damp glacial valley of Phobjikha and stretching to the warm breezy town of Wangdi. This is the last town before we connect to the central Bhutan.



The drive from Wangdue to Trongsa is very exciting with the crossing of Pelela pass and then entering the beautiful valley of Mangde. This place connotes great history of the Wangchuck Dynasty where they emerged as the most powerful force at the beginning of the last century. The first and the second king ruled the country from Trongsa’s ancient dzong. The Crown Prince of Bhutan always held the position of Trongsa Penlop (Honorary Governor) before succeeding to the throne.



Bumthang consists of the four mountain valleys of Ura, Chumey, Tang and Choekhar. This spectacular valley is the spiritual heartland of Bhutan and home to its most ancient and precious Buddhist place. The tales of Guru Rinpoche (Padmasambhava) and his re-incarnates, known as Lingpas, is still evident and linger in every nook and corners of Bumthang and now considered a sacred place.

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Page 1 of 2