Druk Executives


Bumthang consists of the four mountain valleys of Ura, Chumey, Tang and Choekhar. This spectacular valley is the spiritual heartland of Bhutan and home to its most ancient and precious Buddhist place. The tales of Guru Rinpoche (Padmasambhava) and his re-incarnates, known as Lingpas, is still evident and linger in every nook and corners of Bumthang and now considered a sacred place.

Jakar Dzong
Jakar means the ‘Fortress of the White bird’ and was originally built as a monastery in 1549 and later enlarged in 1646. It is one of the largest and impressive dzongs in Bhutan and houses the administrative and monastic offices for the Bumthang district.

Wangdicholing Palace
Built in 1857, the palace served as the principal summer residence of the first and second kings of Bhutan. It is an unassuming structure, lacking the ramparts and protective walls which became standard features of later palaces. Currently, it is unoccupied and can be visited.

Jambey Lhakhang (Temple)
This temple was built in 7th century by Tibetan King, Songtsen Gembo, believed to be the reincarnation of the Buddha of Compassion. It is one of the 108 monasteries built by him to subdue evil spirits in the Himalayan region.

Kurjey Lhakhang (Temple)
This temple is located above Jambey Lhakhang, consists of three temples. The one on the right was built in 1652 on the rock face where Guru meditated in the 8th century. Second temple is built on the site of a cave containing a rock with the imprint of Guru's body and is therefore considered the most holy. The third temple was recently built by the present Royal Queen Mother. These three temples are surrounded by 108 Chorten wall.

Mebar Tsho (The burning Lake)
Which means the burning lake is a scared place of pilgrimage. Terton Pema Lingpa, a treasure discoverer jumped into the lake sometimes in 1470s with a burning lamp into the lake. He came out of the lake with the lamp still burning and with a statue, a ritual skull, and a script which are the treasures hidden by Guru Rinpoche thus he became a Terton, ‘a discoverer of religious treasures’.

Ura Valley
After you cross Mebartsho you will reach Tang valley and then slowly descend into Ura valley. It is a beautiful valley with clustered houses and it is believed by some to have been home to the earliest inhabitants of Bhutan. Once you leave Ura valley, you are traveling towards the highest point of your journey, the Thrumshingla pass. All the passes in Bhutan are adorned with beautiful prayer flags and sometimes with small Chorten(Stupas). In winter these passes are heavily covered by snow. After the highest point, you slowly climb down to the warmer valley of Lingmithang and then climb again to Mongar town.